Ethiopia is a multi-party federal democracy with legislative authority resting with the government headed by an executive prime minister and the elected House of Representatives (547 members) and the House of Federation (110 members). The Prime Minister is chosen by the party in power following multi-party democratic national and federal state elections which are held every five years. Parties can be registered at either the national or the federal state level. The President is elected by the members of the House of People's Representatives.

President: Sahle-work Zewde

 Prime Minister: Dr. Abiy Ahmed

 Speaker of the House of People's Representatives: Tagese Chafo

 Below is the list of the ministers: Cabinet (October 2018):

1.      Deputy Prime Minister:

·        H.E. Mr. Demeke Mekonnen

2.    Ministry of Peace:

·        H.E. Mrs. Mufuriat Kamil

3.    Ministry of Defense:

·        H.E. Kenea Yadeta(Ph.D.)

4.    Ministry of Foreign Affairs:

·        H.E. Mr. Demeke Mekonnen

5.    Ministry of Finance:

·        H.E. Mr. Ahmed Shide

6.    Attorney General:

·        H.E. Gedion Timotheos(Ph.D.) 

7.    Ministry of Agriculture:

·        H.E. Mr. Omer Hussen

8.    Ministry of Trade and Industry:

·        H.E. Mr. Melaku Alebel

9.    Ministry of Innovation and Technology:

·        H.E. Abraham Belay(Ph.D.)

10.   Ministry of Transport:

·        H.E. Mrs. Dagmawit Moges

11.    Ministry of Urban Development and construction:

·        H.E. Engineer Aisha Mohammed

12.   Ministry of Water, Irrigation, and Energy:

·        H.E. Engineer Sileshi Bekele(Ph.D.)

13.   Ministry of Mines and Petroleum:

·        H.E. Engineer Takele Uma 

14.   Ministry of Education:

·        H.E. Engineer Getahun Mekuria(Ph.D.)

15.   Ministry of Science and Higher Education:

·        H.E. Samuel Urkato(Ph.D.) 

16.   Ministry of Health:

·        H.E. Dr. Liya Tadesse

17.   Ministry of Women, Children, and Youth:

·        H.E. Filsan Abdullahi

18.   Ministry of Labor and Social Affairs:

·         H.E. Ergoge Tesfay(Ph.D.)

19.   Ministry of Culture, Tourism, and Sport:

·        H.E. Hirut Kassaw(Ph.D.)

20. Ministry of Revenue:

·        H.E. Mr. La'qe Ayalew

21.   Planning and Development Commission:

·        H.E. Fetsum Assefa(Ph.D.)


Capital City

Addis Ababa, one of the two chartered cities in the Federation, is the seat of the Federal Government. It is the largest city in the country with a population of 2.7 million at the 2007 census (estimated at 3.2 million in 2011). It lies on the central plateau at an altitude of 2300-2400 meters, and with an average temperature of around 160C.

Addis Ababa, founded in 1887, is host to the African Union (AU) and to the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA). Several other international organizations have their headquarters and offices there. It the seat of the Federal Government, the House of Representatives, and the House of Federation, as well as the country's center of commerce and industry.

Regional State Governments with Capitals and Two City Administration:

1.      Afar Regional State:

·        Semera

2.    Amhara Regional State:

·        Bahr Dar

3.    Benishangul Gumuz:

·        Asossa

4.    Gambella Regional State:

·        Gambella

5.    Harar State:

·        Harar

6.    Oromia Regional State:

·        Finfine (Addis Ababa)

7.    Somali Regional State:

·        Jijiga

8.    SNNP Regional State:

·        Hawassa

9.    Tigray Regional State:

·        Mekelle

10.   Sidama

   ·        Hawassa

11.    Addis Ababa City Administration

12.   Dire-Dawa City Administration 

Back to Home

THIS YEAR:   806
TOTAL:    39986
      * Visa Service
      * Document Authentication
      * For Diplomatic Community
      * For Bussiness Community
      * Government E-Services
      * Week in the Horn
      * Press Release
      * Speech
      * Articles

Subscribe Our News Posts